OSU regents name presidential search committee

Friday, July 26th 2002, 12:00 am
By: News On 6

OKLAHOMA CITY (AP) _ Oklahoma State University regents on Friday named a 26-member board that will nominate the school's next president.

President James Halligan announced his retirement in May and said he hoped his replacement would be hired in six to eight months.

The selection committee includes faculty, staff, administrators and students from five Oklahoma State campuses. It also includes leaders in business, agriculture and government, as well as four members of the university's governing boards.

``We've assembled an outstanding group of individuals representing key university constituencies who will be dedicated to identifying the person who can best lead OSU into the future,'' said Fred Harlan, regents' chairman. ``Each member is committed to ensuring a thorough search responsive to the best interest of the OSU family.''

Regents' vice chairman Ed Keller will head the search committee. He was on the committee that guided the search for Halligan in 1993.

Other members include Oklahoma City attorney and banker Burns Hargis, Okemah veterinarian Claud Evans and Williams Cos. Vice President Michael Johnson of Tulsa.

The regents selected Korn/Ferry International to aid in the search. The firm helped OSU select Halligan and has worked with the University of Texas, Purdue University and the University of Massachusetts.