Doak Walker finalists announced

Tuesday, November 21st 2006, 3:26 pm
By: News On 6

DALLAS (AP) Darren McFadden of Arkansas, Mike Hart of Michigan and Steve Slaton of West Virginia were named finalists Tuesday for the Doak Walker Award, which honors the nation's top running back.

The winner will be announced December 7th, and the award will be presented February 15th at a Dallas banquet.

McFadden, a sophomore from Little Rock, Arkansas, leads the Southeastern Conference with 1,303 yards rushing and has 15 touchdowns.

Hart, a junior from Syracuse, New York, has rushed for 1,515 yards and 14 touchdowns this season. He ranks 4th nationally in rushing yards.

Slaton, a sophomore from Levittown, Pennsylvania, has rushed for 1,578 yards and scored 16 touchdowns. He leads the nation averaging 187 all-purpose yards per game and is tied for the national lead in rushing yards per game with 157.8 per contest.

The award is named after three-time SMU All-American runningback and 1948 Heisman Trophy winner Doak Walker.