ORU's Anthony Sequeira Earns Third Team All-America Honors

Saturday, June 13th 2015, 7:03 pm
By: News On 6

Oral Roberts baseball senior Anthony Sequeira has picked up third-team All-American accolades as a utility player, the American Baseball Coaches Association announced Saturday.

Sequeira led the team offensively with 11 homers to go along with a .341 batting average. After proving himself as an offensive threat, the Petaluma, Calif. native has also excelled on the mound for the Golden Eagles, leading the conference with 11 saves. Sequeira boasts an ERA of 1.38 in 32.2 innings of work. He finished the year in the top 10 in The Summit League in hits (73), doubles (20) and walks (29).

He was the only Summit League player to receive the honor.

Sequeira was recently named a finalist for the John Olerud award. An honor given to the top dual threat player in the country. On Wednesday, he was drafted in the 25th round by the Philadelphia Phillies.

The ABCA/Rawlings All-America team is the oldest All-America team in college baseball, first recognized in 1949. A full archive of All-America teams is online at www.ABCA.org/awards/all-americans. The ABCA/Rawlings Gold Glove Awards will be announced on Sunday, June 13.

The ABCA/Rawlings All-America teams, Gold Bat Award and Gold Glove Awards are voted on in Omaha by the ABCA All-America Committee, which is chaired by Dean Ehehalt of Monmouth University. The committee also includes head coaches Mike Stone (Massachusetts), Brian O'Connor (Virginia), Tim Corbin (Vanderbilt), Steve Jaksa (Central Michigan), Steve Smith (formerly of Baylor), Tommy Raffo (Arkansas State) and George Horton (Oregon).

Established in 1945, the ABCA is the primary professional organization for baseball coaches at the amateur level. Founded as the American Association of College Baseball Coaches (AACBC), the association was instrumental in the creation of the College World Series. The first AACBC College World Series was held in 1947 in Kalamazoo, Michigan, where California beat Yale in a best two-of-three series. In 1949, the AACBC expanded the tournament to four teams and the series moved to Wichita, Kansas. The CWS expanded to eight teams and moved to Omaha in 1950, where it has been held ever since.

The ABCA's over 6,600 members represent all 50 states and 23 countries. Since its initial meeting of 27 college baseball coaches in June 1945, Association membership has broadened to include eight divisions: NCAA Division I, II and III, NAIA, Junior College, Pacific Association Division, High School and Youth. The 72nd annual ABCA Convention will be held Jan. 7-10, 2016 in Nashville, Tennessee.

For more information, visit the ABCA.