Green Country Educators Among Finalists For Oklahoma Teacher Of The Year

Friday, July 8th 2011, 5:05 pm
By: News On 6

OKLAHOMA CITY – A Bartlesville High School teacher and Union and Coweta elementary school teacher are among the 12 finalists for Oklahoma's Teacher of the Year.

State Superintendent Janet Barresi announced the finalists at a special ceremony in downtown Oklahoma City Friday.

Among the 12 finalists are Betty Henderson, an Anatomy and Physiology teacher at Bartlesville High School; Dawn Poyndexter, a 1st and 2nd grade teacher at Cedar Ridge Elementary in the Union Public School district; and Jill Steeley, a 2nd greade teacher at Central Elementary School in Coweta.

The other finalists are:

  1. Jody Bowie - a 10th through 12th grade Physics, Earth Science, and Physical Science teacher at Putnam City High School
  2. Amy Braun - a 1st grade teacher at Northmoor Elementary School in Moore Public Schools.
  3. Trina Evans - an 8th – 12th grade English, Algebra, Pre-Calculus, Advanced Placement Calculus, and Advanced Placement Statistics teacher at Liberty High School
  4. Ebony Harris - teaches 9th-11th grade Algebra, Algebra II and Geometry teacher at Seminole High School.
  5. Kristin Shelby - teaches 4th grade at Sallie Gillentine Elementary School in Hollis.
  6. Lori Sosenko – teaches 4th grade at James Griffith Intermediate at Choctaw-Nicoma Park Public Schools
  7. Tonya Stites - teaches Pre-Kindergarten- 2nd grade students Physical Education at Liberty Elementary in Sallisaw.
  8. Mark Thomas - a 10th-12th grade Geometry, Algebra II, Trigonometry, and Advanced Placement Calculus teacher at Stillwater High School.
  9. Lyndal Westmoreland - an Advanced Placement English Literature, 8th grade English; 7th and 8th grade Reading; and Speech, Drama, and Debate teacher at Okarche High School.