Sherri Coale Honored by Oklahoma City University

Thursday, May 26th 2011, 12:14 pm
By: News On 6

Originally Published: Mar 2, 2011 3:48 PM CDT

Oklahoma Sports Staff

OKLAHOMA CITY – Oklahoma City University announced Wednesday that it will honor Oklahoma women’s basketball coach Sherri Coale with the Abe Lemons/Paul Hansen Award for Sports Excellence.

The Lemons/Hanson Award is given annually to the individual who contributes to the growth of sports in the state of Oklahoma. Past winners include Clay Bennett, Mick Cornett, Barry Switzer, Bob Funk and Bill Self.

The award will be presented as part of the OCU Sports Spectacular on April 26. The event includes dinner, as well as live and silent auctions. The proceeds will benefit OCU’s varsity sports programs, the Paul Hansen Memorial Scholarship and the Abe Lemons Endowed Athletic Scholarship.

“We are very excited to honor Coach Coale this year,” OCU athletic director Jim Abbott said in a statement. “She is the first female recipient of the award, and we are thrilled to have the opportunity to recognize her achievements.”

Coale is currently in her 15th season as the Sooners’ head coach and has been credited with turning the program around. She’s guided OU to six Big 12 titles, four conference tournament titles and 11 straight NCAA tournament appearances.

In the last two seasons, Coale has seen her teams reach the Final Four, marking the first time in the program’s history.

Coale’s collegiate career was spent playing for Oklahoma Christian, where she was named academic All-American.

Sherri Coale has not only taken seriously the amounts of wins her team has collected, but she also focuses on improving her players and individuals, advocating excellence in the classroom and community service.