Infrastructure Storm Aid OK'd For 5 Ark. Counties

Wednesday, April 29th 2009, 5:09 am
By: News On 6

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. (AP) - Federal money will be available to fix roads, buildings and other public structures that sustained damage from April 9 storms in five Arkansas counties, the governor's office said Tuesday.

Gov. Mike Beebe got word Tuesday afternoon that the Obama administration had granted Arkansas' request for a public-assistance disaster declaration in Ashley, Howard, Miller, Polk and Sevier counties.

The declaration brings with it federal money to cover 75% of the damages to public infrastructure in the affected counties, including utility systems, roads and bridges, water-control facilities and debris removal.

On Monday, federal authorities had declared Polk, Sevier and Miller counties disaster areas for purposes of providing assistance to individuals who suffered damages.

Copyright 2009 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.