Griffin, Collins, Self Head AP All-Big 12 Awards

Sunday, March 8th 2009, 2:23 pm
By: News On 6

Associated Press

KANSAS CITY, Mo. -- Blake Griffin, Oklahoma's dominant, record-smashing sophomore, is a unanimous choice for The Associated Press Big 12 player of the year for 2008-09.

Bill Self of Kansas, who lost every starter from last year's NCAA championship team but still molded the young Jayhawks into surprising regular-season champions, outpolled Missouri's Mike Anderson for Big 12 coach of the year.

A panel of 18 sports writers and sportscasters who regularly cover the conference also named Denis Clemente of Kansas State as the Big 12's newcomer of the year and Oklahoma guard Willie Warren the freshman of the year.

Kansas guard Sherron Collins and Griffin were unanimous picks for the first team as chosen by the AP panel. Joining them on the first unit were DeMarre Carroll of Missouri, Craig Brackins of Iowa State and Cole Aldrich of Kansas.