State issues fire alerts, ban in Cimarron County

Wednesday, February 18th 2004, 12:00 am
By: News On 6

(Oklahoma City-AP) -- The state is issuing a a burning ban for Cimarron County in the Oklahoma Panhandle and a Red Flag Fire Alert in 46 other Oklahoma counties.

The Forestry Services department says warm, dry and windy conditions have created an unusually high fire danger for the western two-thirds of the state. Outdoor burning should be avoided when winds are above 20 miles per hour.

The counties under the Red Flag Fire Alert are Alfalfa, Beaver, Beckham, Blaine, Caddo, Canadian, Carter, Cleveland, Comanche, Cotton and Custer.

Also, Dewey, Ellis, Garfield, Garvin, Grady, Grant, Greer, Harmon, Harper, Jackson, Jefferson, Johnson, Kay, Kingfisher, Kiowa, Lincoln, Logan, Love, McClain, Major, Marshall, Murray, Noble, Oklahoma, Payne, Pontotoc, Pottawatomie, Roger Mills, Seminole, Stephens, Texas, Tillman, Washita, Woods and Woodward.