Governor issues ban on outdoor burning

Friday, August 22nd 2003, 12:00 am
By: News On 6

(Oklahoma City-AP) -- Governor Henry Friday issued a ban on outdoor burning in 33 Oklahoma counties.

Henry says severe drought conditions have increased the danger of grass and wildfires and no widespread relief in the form of rain is expected.

The counties included in the ban are Alfalfa, Beckham, Blaine, Canadian, Carter, Cimarron, Comanche, Dewey, Ellis, Garfield, Garvin, Grant, Greer, Harmon, Jackson, Jefferson, Johnston, Kingfisher, Logan, Love, Marshall, Major, Noble, Oklahoma, Payne, Pottawatomie, Pontotoc, Seminole, Stephens, Tillman, Washita, Woods and Woodward.

There are some exceptions to the ban, including gas or charcoal grilling, fireworks displays that are permitted by the state Fire Marshall and the proper burning of wheat stubble.