Amos, Thompson win Choctaw tribal council seats

Sunday, July 13th 2003, 12:00 am
By: News On 6

DURANT - Michael Allen Amos and General Perry Thompson won seats on the Choctaw Nation Council in tribal elections Saturday, but a runoff will be held on Aug. 2 for a third seat.

Amos outpolled four other candidates to win the District 2 seat, according to tribal election results. Amos received 53 percent of the vote. His nearest challenger, Billy Paul Baker, received 22 percent.

Other candidates were Gary Dewayne Noah, Kenneth Wayne Ashalintubbi and Jeffery Jefferson.

Thompson received 84 percent of the vote to defeat Lorn Adel Hampton for the District 8 seat.

The runoff will be between Harrington Ward and Thomas Williston for the District 1 seat. A runoff is needed because none of the six candidates for the seat received a majority of the vote.

Ward received 44 percent and Williston received 22 percent. Other candidates were John Wesley Epperson, John Williams, Jason Michael Baker and Reginald Don Williams.