KEATING lifts burn ban for Tulsa County

Saturday, September 8th 2001, 12:00 am
By: News On 6

OKLAHOMA CITY (AP) _ Citing recent rainfall, Gov. Frank Keating removed eight more counties from his outdoor burning ban Friday.

Keating's action leaves just 19 counties under the burn ban that was ordered when drought conditions swept the state earlier this summer.

Counties removed from the burn ban are Beckham, Custer, Hughes, Okfuskee, Pontotoc, Roger Mills, Seminole and Washita.

``These counties have benefited from recent rainfall,'' Keating said. ``Unfortunately, many parts of our state remain in desperate need of relief from a summer of drought and scorching temperatures.''

Last week the governor lifted the burn ban on nine other counties that had received rainfall.

Counties that remain under the ban include Alfalfa, Beaver, Blaine, Coal, Creek, Dewey, Ellis, Garfield, Garvin, Grant, Harper, Kay, Major, Okmulgee, Pawnee, Stephens, Texas, Tulsa and Woodward.