Griffin, Largent, Selmon among NCAA Silver Anniversary winners

Wednesday, November 1st 2000, 12:00 am
By: News On 6

INDIANAPOLIS (AP) _ Archie Griffin, the only two-time Heisman Trophy winner, and Football Hall of Famers Steve Largent and Lee Roy Selmon are among six NCAA Silver Anniversary Award recipients.

The awards, to be presented Jan. 7 during the NCAA convention in Lake Buena Vista, Fla., go annually to former athletes for their accomplishments since their graduation from college 25 years earlier.

Griffin, who won the Heisman Trophy at Ohio State in 1974 and 1975, still holds an NCAA record with 33 games of at least 100 yards rushing. He played eight years with the NFL Cincinnati Bengals, then returned to Ohio State in 1985 to work in the athletic department administration.

Since 1994, Griffin has been associate athletic director at Ohio State.

Largent, who led the nation in touchdown receptions in 1974 and 1975 at Tulsa, played in the NFL from 1976-89 and retired from the Seattle Seahawks with then-NFL records in career receptions, yardage and touchdowns. He was elected to Congress from Oklahoma's First District in 1994.

Selmon was the 1975 Outland Trophy winner as the nation's top interior lineman at Oklahoma. He played for the Tampa Bay Buccaneers from 1976-84, was a six-time Pro Bowl selection and was the MVP of the 1981 Pro Bowl. He is now associate athletic director at South Florida.

The others who will receive the Silver Anniversary Award are:

Alpha Alexander, who played basketball, volleyball, tennis and Lacrosse at Wooster, was a co-founder of the Black Women in Sport Foundation and has been a U.S. Olympic Committee member since 1988; Steve Raible, who played football at Georgia Tech and for six years with the Seahawks and is now a television news anchor in Seattle; and Wally Walker, who played basketball at Virginia and then on NBA championship teams in Portland and Seattle. He is now the president and general manager of the SuperSonics.