Heupel named Unitas Finalist

Thursday, October 26th 2000, 12:00 am
By: News On 6

LOUISVILLE, Ky. (AP) _ Quarterbacks for four of the country's top 16 teams are among the finalists for the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award.

The five finalists are Josh Heupel of No. 3 Oklahoma, Chris Weinke of No. 6 Florida State, Marques Tuiasosopo of No. 9 Washington, Drew Brees of No. 16 Purdue and Bart Hendricks of Boise State.

The award is presented each year to the nation's top senior collegiate quarterback by the Frank Camp Chapter of the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Educational Foundation.

Heupel has completed 69 percent of his passes for nearly 1,900 yards and 11 touchdowns to lead the resurgent Sooners to the No. 2 spot in the initial Bowl Championship Series standings.

Weinke leads the nation with 2,784 passing yards and is ranked second among Division I quarterbacks in passing efficiency.

Tuiasosopo has completed 115 of 224 passes for 1,433 yards and eight touchdowns and has run for four scores.

Brees is ranked third nationally in passing yardage with 2,443 yards and 19 touchdowns.

Hendricks ranks sixth in the nation in total offense at 293.57 yards per game and is second among Division I-A quarterbacks with 20 TDs.

The winner will be announced Nov. 21. NFL Hall of Fame quarterback Johnny Unitas will make the official award presentation Dec. 8 in Louisville.

Louisville quarterback Chris Redman won the award last year.