Oklahoma State wins all five of its finals en route to third straight title

Sunday, March 20th 2005, 11:00 am
By: News On 6

ST. LOUIS (AP) _ Heavyweight Steve Mocco's overtime takedown wrapped up an undefeated season and a perfect finals for Oklahoma State.

The Cowboys won all five of its matches to take its third straight NCAA wrestling championship tonight.

The Cowboys also got titles from Zack Esposito at 149 pounds, Johny Hendricks at 165, Chris Pendleton at 174 and Jake Rosholt at 197 to tie the NCAA record of five championships set by Iowa in 1997.

Oklahoma State, which has won three straight championships for the first time since 1954-56, finished with 153 points and a 50-point cushion over runner-up Michigan.