TU Linebacker Zaven Collins Wins Bronko Nagurski Trophy

Wednesday, December 23rd 2020, 1:43 pm
By: Nate Kotisso

TULSA, Okla. -

Tulsa linebacker Zaven Collins was selected as the winner of the 2020 Bronko Nagurski Trophy on Wednesday.

The trophy is awarded to the best defensive player in college football by the Football Writers Association of America.

Collins, a 6-foot-4, 260-pound redshirt junior from Hominy, is the program's first FWAA All-American in 29 years (offensive lineman Jerry Ostroski, 1991). Collins was selected out of five finalists from Alabama (cornerback Patrick Surtain II), Coastal Carolina (defensive end Tarron Jackson), Iowa (defensive tackle Daviyon Nixon), and Notre Dame (linebacker Jeremiah Owusu-Koramoah).

The linebacker compiled 54 tackles, four sacks, forced two fumbles, and intercepted four passes this season.

Among Collins' highlights, this season was a 96-yard interception returned for a touchdown to help the Golden Hurricane defeat Tulane in double overtime on Nov. 19.