6 Eastern Oklahoma Educators Among 12 Teacher Of The Year Finalists

Thursday, July 12th 2018, 10:20 am
By: News On 6

State Superintendent of Public Instruction Joy Hofmeister announced the 12 finalists for Oklahoma’s next Teacher of the Year Thursday morning.

Six of them teach in eastern Oklahoma classrooms.

  • Natalie Fielden - Kindergarten teacher at Sapulpa Public Schools
  • Amy Greenhaw - Special Education teacher at Jenks Public School
  • Carol Hunsperger - 3rd Grade teacher at Grove Public Schools
  • Jenny Morphis - 1st Grade teacher at Hilldale Schools in Muskogee
  • Warren Neff - STEM Math teacher at Bartlesville Public Schools
  • Jannean Thompson - 5th Grader teacher at Berryhill Public Schools

Hofmeister says the finalists are "some of Oklahoma’s finest educators who are making a difference in the lives of our students every day.”

The other six finalists include:

  • Catherine Adams - Piedmont Public Schools
  • Shari Gateley - Putnam City Schools
  • Teresa Lansford - Norman Public Schools.
  • Rebecca Oglesby - Yukon Public Schools
  • Jessica Robinson - Altus Public Schools
  • Michelle Shelton - Noble Public Schools

All finalists are teachers of the year for their respective districts.

The 2019 Oklahoma Teacher of the Year will be named September 18 in a ceremony at State Fair Park in Oklahoma City.