TU's Dane Evans Named To Allstate AFCA Good Works Team

Thursday, September 15th 2016, 5:03 pm
By: News On 6

University of Tulsa senior quarterback Dane Evans was one of 24 college football players named to the 2016 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team, one of the most coveted off-the-field honors in college football. It was announced today by the Allstate Insurance Company and the American Football Coaches Association (AFCA).

The Good Works Team award is celebrating 25 years of recognizing college football players who dedicate their time to bettering the community and the lives of others.

This year, in recognition of the 25th anniversary, Allstate and the AFCA added three additional spots to the team, including an honorary head coach, bringing the final roster to 25 members. Amidst the rivalry, competitiveness and excitement of college football, the contributions made off the field by players and coaches can often be overlooked. The players named to the Good Works Team represent the sport's finest in terms of character and leadership, in addition to maintaining good academic standing.

Evans, from Sanger, Texas, has been involved in various community events throughout his career at Tulsa. He has volunteered for Feed My Starving Children, tornado Team Relief, Youth Day Camps, FCA events, St. Francis Children’s Hospital visits and elementary school readings and activities.

Evans has played in 35 career games and has 32 starts while completing 672-of-1197 passes for 8,657 career yards and 53 touchdowns. He ranks fourth on the school's all-time passing, total offense and TDs thrown charts. Evans has 13 career 300+ passing games and shares the school record with four career 400+ passing games.

Now that the team is announced, fans are encouraged to visit ESPN.com/Allstate to vote for the 2016 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team Captain through November 23, 2016. The Team Captain will be honored at the Home Depot College Football Awards on ESPN. The 2016 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team will be invited to New Orleans to participate in a community project before the 2017 Allstate Sugar Bowl, where the team will be recognized at halftime. 

The 2016 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team was selected from a group of nominees who were submitted by sports information directors across the country. A voting panel of former Good Works Team members and prominent college football media members narrowed the impressive list of 165 players and 10 coaches down to the 25 members of the 2016 team. 

The following players and head coach have been named to the 2016 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team:

NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision (I-A)

Name                               Cl.           Pos.        School                                   Hometown               

Deshaun Watson                Jr.           QB         Clemson                                Gainesville, Ga.

Derek McCartney               Jr.            LB         Colorado                                Westminster, Colo.

DeVon Edwards                 RSr.         DB         Duke                                     Covington, Ga.

Alec Eberle                       RSo.         OL        Florida State                           Mechanicsville, Va.

Jeb Blazevich                    Jr.            TE        Georgia                                  Charlotte, N.C.

KeShun Freeman               Jr.             DL        Georgia Tech                          LaGrange, Ga.

Makani Kema-Kaleiwahea   RSr.          DL        Hawaii                                   Honolulu, O’ahu

Mike Caprara                     RSr.          LB        Pittsburgh                              Turtle Creek, Pa.

Caylin Moore                     Sr.             DB        TCU                                     Carson, Calif.

Dane Evans                      RSr.           QB        Tulsa                                    Sanger, Texas

Oren Burks                       RJr.            LB         Vanderbilt                              Fairfax Station, Va.

Zach Terrell                      RSr.            QB        Western Michigan                   Fort Wayne, Ind.       

NCAA Football Championship Subdivision (I-AA), Divisions II, III and NAIA

Name                               Cl.             Pos.      School                                   Hometown

Zach Bernhard                  RSr.           LB         Ashland                                 Ashland, Ohio

Drew Neuville                    Sr.             E        Bethel (Minn.)                           Green Bay, Wis.

Dan Gallman                     Sr.            OL         Carson-Newman                      Naples, Fla.

Nate Casey                       Sr.            LB         Davidson                                Tega Cay, S.C.

Michael Allen                    Sr.             LB         Incarnate Word                       Garland, Texas

Luke Grooters                   Sr.             LB         Morningside                            Rock Rapids, Iowa

Carl Jones                        RSr.           OL         North Carolina Central             Nashville, Tenn.

Corbin Jountti                   Jr.              RB         Northern Arizona                     Bakersfield, Calif.

Zach Clark                        Sr.             OL         Oklahoma Baptist                    Oklahoma City, Okla.

Kaymon Farmer                Sr.             WR        Southeastern Oklahoma State    Pittsburg, Texas

Trent Brodbeck                 RSr.           TE         Wayne State (Mich.)                 Toledo, Ohio

Brett Kasper                     Jr.              QB         Wisconsin-Oshkosh                 Two Rivers, Wis.

 Honorary Head Coach

Name                            School

Mark Richt                     Miami (Fla.)