Golden Eagles Set For Fort Worth Regional

Thursday, June 2nd 2016, 4:46 pm
By: News On 6

After claiming its 17th Summit League baseball title, the Oral Roberts Golden Eagles are headed to the Fort Worth Regional of the 2016 NCAA Baseball Tournament as the No. 4 seed, the NCAA Selection Committee announced Monday on ESPNU.

The Golden Eagles will face host school and 11th-ranked TCU to open play on Friday, June 3 at 6:30 p.m. on ESPN3. Joining the Golden Eagles and Horned Frogs in Fort Worth are No. 2 seed Arizona State and No. 3 seed Gonzaga.

ORU is no stranger to the Horned Frogs in the postseason as the two programs met in the 2011 Fort Worth Regional. ORU dropped the opener to TCU, 10-2, before defeating the host, 8-2. The Golden Eagles hold a 26-17 advantage in the all-time series.

It marks the 26th time in program history that the Golden Eagles will play in the postseason, and the second year in-a-row. The team holds a 34-50 all-time record in the NCAA Tournament. 

Tickets will initially be sold as All-Session reserved seat packages only. This package includes tickets to each game with a maximum of seven (7) possible games. Currently, they are available to TCU season-ticket holders only and must be purchased by 5 p.m. Wednesday, June 1. 

All-Session prices are $60 each and $45 each for GA. This is a substantial savings as single game reserved tickets---if available after expected high demand for All-Sessions---will not be sold until the first game and will be $20 and $15 each. All seats in Lupton Stadium will be sold as reserved seats, no General Admission. Once all reserved seats are sold, Standing Room Only will be available on the Grass Hill down the first base line. These SRO tickets will only be sold after all reserved seats have been sold, and they will be $15 each. 

If all-session packages remain, they will be available to the general public Thursday morning beginning at 8 a.m. Call 817-257-3764 to purchase your tickets.

All-time Records Versus Regional Teams

TCU (26-17); Last met in 2011
Arizona State (3-9); Last met in 2011
Gonzaga (1-0); Last met in 2002