Oklahoma Wildfires Continue To Burn

Thursday, April 7th 2016, 7:25 am
By: News On 6

Several wildfires continue to burn Thursday morning in Oklahoma with the biggest in northwest part of the state.  

Because of that, Governor Mary Fallin has expanded a state of emergency to now include 11 counties.  Those counties are Alfalfa, Blaine, Dewey, Garfield, Grant, Harper, Logan, Major, Woods and Woodward.  

Governor Mary Fallin Emergency Declaration

Creek County is also on the list and the state forestry department says planes were needed on Wednesday to help fight a wildfire burning near Bristow, Drumright and Olive. 

But the biggest fire right now is burning in Woodward County, where officials say arcing power lines - due to strong winds - sparked a massive fire.  

State forestry officials say that fire is only 20 percent contained and has burned 55,000 acres.

On Wednesday, a wildfire had threatened the small town of Freedom, located west of Alva and northeast of Fort Supply, but firefighters were able slow the fire's advance.