2016 Chili Bowl Winner Awarded Championship Ring

Wednesday, March 16th 2016, 11:46 am
By: News On 6

Tulsa's world famous Chili Bowl Nationals race honored the 2016 winning team in a special way.

The Chili Bowl presented championship rings to car owner Keith Kunz and driver Rico Abreu. 

1/17/2016: Related Story: Rico Abreu Wins Repeat Victory At Tulsa Chili Bowl

"With this year being the 30th running of the Chili Bowl, we wanted to make it special and the ring was a great fit," said Chili Bowl co-founder, Emmett Hahn. "Keith and Rico did a great job and we couldn't be more proud to have them earn this ring."

"This ring was special for the 30th year of the Chili Bowl," Hahn continued, "So we haven't decided yet if we want to make it an annual thing, or just bring it back for the big anniversaries of the Chili Bowl."

The 30th running of the Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals set records for attendance and participation with 336 drivers hitting the track inside the River Spirit Expo Center at the fairgrounds.

The Kunz-Abreu team won $10,000 and the coveted Golden Driller trophy. Kunz tweeted Wednesday morning, "Just received the most desired trophy in Midget Racing." 

The 31st annual Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals presented by General Tire will take place January 10 through 14, 2017 at the River Spirit Expo Center.