TU's Keyarris Garrett Added To Biletnikoff Award Watch List

Tuesday, September 29th 2015, 4:26 pm
By: News On 6

The nation’s third-leading receiver Keyarris Garrett of The University of Tulsa was added to the 2015 Biletnikoff Award Watch List today, as announced by the Tallahassee Quarterback Club (TQC) Foundation, Inc. The Biletnikoff Award annually recognizes the outstanding receiver in college football.

Garrett joins fellow Golden Hurricane receiver Keevan Lucas on the 2015 Biletnikoff Award Watch List. Lucas was named to the preseason watch list in July.

A 6’4” senior from Daingerfield, Texas, Garrett has caught 26 passes for 454 yards, one TD and a 17.5-yard average. In each of Tulsa’s first three games, Garrett has gone over the 100-yard receiving mark. He had a career-high 189 yards and a 50-ayrd touchdown against #16-ranked Oklahoma.  Garrett also had 163 yards on five receptions against FAU in the season opener and 102 yards on seven catches at New Mexico.

Garrett ranks third in the nation for receiving yards per game (151.3), fifth for receptions per game (8.7) and eight for receiving yards (454).

In his career, Garrett has 149 receptions for 2,075 yards and 15 touchdowns.

The Biletnikoff Award will open, on October 1, its online FanVote for voting for Biletnikoff Award candidates on the Biletnikoff Award website. Every fan may vote once daily on the Biletnikoff Award FanVote page. The aggregate fan tally will be counted as one official vote to determine semi-finalists (ten receivers), finalists (three), and the winner. In 2013, in the closest contest in years, the FanVote tally provided the one-vote margin of victory for 2013 Biletnikoff Award winner Brandin Cooks of Oregon State.

To access the Biletnikoff Award FanVote on October 1, go to http://biletnikoffaward.com/fan-vote

The name Biletnikoff is synonymous with the term receiver. Fred Biletnikoff, a member of the pro and college football halls of fame, was an All-America receiver at Florida State University, and an All-Pro receiver for the Oakland Raiders. He caught 589 passes for 8,974 yards and 76 touchdowns in his 14-year Raiders career from 1965 through 1978. Fred was the Most Valuable Player of Super Bowl XI. The Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation (TQC), Inc., created the Biletnikoff Award in 1994.

The award recipient is selected by the highly distinguished Biletnikoff Award National Selection Committee, a group 275 prominent college football journalists, commentators, and former receivers. Any player, regardless of position (wide receiver, tight end, slot back, and running back) who catches a pass is eligible for the award.

The Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation, Inc., will announce the 10 Biletnikoff Award semifinalists on November 16, 2015, following the vote by the 311 members of the Biletnikoff Award National Selection Committee. Likewise, the three finalists will be declared, following another vote, on November 24, 2015. The 2015 Biletnikoff Award winner will be presented live on December 10, 2015, on The Home Depot College Football Awards Show to be broadcast on ESPN.