TU's Keevan Lucas Named To 2015 Biletnikoff Award Preseason Watch List

Wednesday, July 15th 2015, 4:23 pm
By: News On 6

University of Tulsa receiver Keevan Lucas was named to the 2015 Biletnikoff Award Preseason Watch List today, as announced by the Tallahassee Quarterback Club (TQC) Foundation, Inc. The Biletnikoff Award annually recognizes the outstanding receiver in college football.
Lucas, a 5'10" junior from Abilene, Texas, has 1,661 career receiving yards and 12 touchdowns on 133 receptions for a 12.5 average per reception in his first two seasons. A year ago, Lucas led the Hurricane with 101 receptions for 1,219 yards and 11 TDs to finish the season ranked sixth on the school's all-time receiving chart.
A second-team all-American Athletic Conference selection in 2014, Lucas had five 100-yard receiving games with a career-best 233 yards and three TDs on 13 receptions against Tulane. Lucas returns in 2015 as one of the nation's leading returning receivers. He ranked among the nation's leaders in 2014 for receptions per game (5th), receiving yards per game (11th), receiving yards (12th) and receiving TDs (12th).
The name Biletnikoff is synonymous with the term receiver. Fred Biletnikoff, a member of the pro and college football halls of fame, was an All-America receiver at Florida State University, and an All-Pro receiver for the Oakland Raiders. He caught 589 passes for 8,974 yards and 76 touchdowns in his 14-year Raiders career from 1965 through 1978. Fred was the Most Valuable Player of Super Bowl XI. The Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation (TQC), Inc., created the Biletnikoff Award in 1994.
The award recipient is selected by the highly distinguished Biletnikoff Award National Selection Committee, a group 275 prominent college football journalists, commentators, and former receivers. Any player, regardless of position (wide receiver, tight end, slot back, and running back) who catches a pass is eligible for the award.
The Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation, Inc., will announce the ten Biletnikoff Award semifinalists on November 16, 2015, following the vote by the 275 members of the Biletnikoff Award National Selection Committee. Likewise, the three finalists will be declared, following another vote, on November 24, 2015. The 2015 Biletnikoff Award winner will be presented live on December 10, 2015, on The Home Depot College Football Awards Show to be broadcast on ESPN.