Green Country Educators To Advise Governor's Oklahoma Works Program

Friday, February 13th 2015, 11:29 am
By: News On 6

Oklahoma Governor Mary Fallin has selected several Green Country educators to serve on an education advisory panel.

They will advise Fallin on education policy and assist in the governor's Oklahoma Works initiative. Oklahoma Works seeks to increase the number of students with "workforce credentials or associate degrees, as well as increasing the number of college graduates," according to the governmental website.

We want to make sure that K-12 schools, CareerTech and Higher Education all have a seat at the table as we work to improve educational outcomes,” Fallin said in a news release.

“Nothing is more important to Oklahoma's future than boosting educational attainment and ensuring our students get the education they need to succeed in the workforce."

2/9/2015 Related Story: AEP Announces $3 Million Grant To Tulsa Education

The program's goals include combining the efforts of state agencies, educational institutions and the business section to ensure students are qualified for good paying jobs upon graduation.

Common Education

  • Stacey Butterfield, Jenks superintendent
  • Anne Caine, Stillwater superintendent
  • Tom Deighan, Lawton superintendent
  • Derald Glover, Fort Gibson superintendent
  • Terry Grissom, Asher superintendent
  • Cliff Johnson, Latta superintendent
  • Sean McDaniel, Mustang superintendent
  • Rob Neu, Oklahoma City superintendent
  • Clark Ogilvie, Owasso superintendent
  • Jeff Pritchard, Seminole superintendent
  • Don Raleigh, Pryor superintendent
  • Roydon Tilley, Chisholm superintendent

Career Tech

  • Jane Bowen, Moore-Norman superintendent
  • Lindel Fields, Tri County Tech Center superintendent
  • Tom Friedemann, Francis Tuttle superintendent
  • Max Thomas, Chisholm Trail Technology Center superintendent
  • Tom Thomas, Great Plains Technology Center superintendent
  • Phil Waul, Central Tech superintendent

Higher Education

  • Don Betz, University of Central Oklahoma president
  • Sean Burrage, Southeastern Oklahoma State University president
  • Cheryl Evans, Northern Oklahoma College president
  • Bo Hannaford, Northwestern dean of College of Professional Studies
  • Deborah Landry, Northeastern Oklahoma State University dean of education
  • Joy McDaniel, Murray State College president
  • Bill Path, OSU Institute of Technology president