Bryan Clauson Shuts Out Swindell For Chili Bowl Title

Sunday, January 19th 2014, 12:47 am
By: Dave Davis

For the first time since 2008, someone not named Swindell won the Chili Bowl title.

Bryan Clauson took home the Golden Driller trophy in front of a packed house at the RiverSpirit Expo Center.

"I'm just really relieved I didn't throw it away because these guys are really good," Bryan Clauson said after the final race.

He said he felt like he had a car that could compete for the win this year.

"It was really going to be a matter of not burying ourselves."

Four-time defending champ Kevin Swindell finished second, after starting 14th. His father, Sammy Swindell won the title in 2009.

The 28th Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals saw the record for driver attendance tied at 281 set in 2009.

Norman native Christopher Bell finished third. The other two Oklahomans in the field, Daryn Pittman (Owasso) and Jonathan Beason (Broken Arrow), finished seventh and eighth, respectively.

The 29th annual race sponsored by Lucas Oil and General Tire is scheduled to take place January 13-17, 2015.

Go to the Chili Bowl website for more results. Ticket info for next year will be posted as soon as it's available.