State Of Emergency Includes Tulsa County And Much Of NE Oklahoma

Monday, February 25th 2013, 2:34 pm
By: News On 6

At the request of Governor Mary Fallin, Lt. Governor Todd Lamb has declared a State of Emergency for 56 Oklahoma counties due the winter storm and severe weather affecting many areas of the state.

Counties in eastern and northeastern Oklahoma included in the State of Emergency:

  • Adair
  • Cherokee
  • Craig
  • Creek
  • Delaware
  • Mayes
  • McIntosh
  • Muskogee
  • Nowata
  • Okmulgee
  • Osage
  • Ottawa
  • Pawnee
  • Rogers
  • Tulsa
  • Wagoner
  • Washington

 "The winter storm has already caused dangerous travel condition in northwest Oklahoma as well as sub-freezing temperatures," said Lt. Governor Todd Lamb.

"I am urging Oklahomans in the impacted areas to take winter storm precautions and stay off the roads unless travel is absolutely necessary. This is a very serious winter storm and we want Oklahomans to stay safe."

The Executive Order allows state agencies to make emergency purchases related to disaster relief and preparedness. It is also a first step toward seeking federal assistance should it be necessary.

A powerful winter storm with blizzard conditions moved into the state Monday morning prompting the closure of highways in the Oklahoma Panhandle, where wind gusts and heavy snow have created whiteout conditions.