ORU Men's Soccer Players On Summit League Honor Roll

Thursday, January 24th 2013, 7:04 pm
By: News On 6

Following the conclusion of the first semester of the 2012-13 academic year, The Summit League has announced its Academic Distinguished Scholars for the fall season. A total of 294 Summit League student-athletes from men's and women's cross country, men's and women's soccer and volleyball were recognized as Distinguished Scholars.

In order to be named a Distinguished Scholar, a student-athlete must have at least a 3.60 grade-point average in the semester in which they compete and must use a year of eligibility.

Kansas City had a league-high 38 student-athletes named Distinguished Scholars followed by South Dakota with 37 recipients. Oakland and Western Illinois each had 36 honorees followed closely by South Dakota State (35 recipients) and Omaha (32 recipients). Fort Wayne landed 26 student-athletes on the list followed by IUPUI's 25 honorees and North Dakota State's 18. Men's soccer associate members Eastern Illinois and Oral Roberts had four and seven student-athletes, respectively, earn Distinguished Scholar honors.

The full Summit League Academic Honor Roll will be released Friday.


School Name Yr. Major Hometown

Eastern Illinois William Butler So. Psychology Bolingbrook, Ill.

Eastern Illinois Ian McCausland Sr. KSS: Teacher Certification Lerna, Ill.

Eastern Illinois Colin Rook Jr. Special Education Naperville, Ill.

Eastern Illinois Nicholas Smith So. Biological Sciences Bolingbrook, Ill.

Fort Wayne William Brown So. General Studies Warsaw, Ind.

Fort Wayne Brent Helton Sr. Business Economics & Public Policy Fort Wayne, Ind.

Fort Wayne Akis Lyrintzis Fr. Freshman Engineering Lafayette, Ind.

Fort Wayne Colson Wagoner Fr. Business Fort Wayne, Ind.

IUPUI Brock Brungard Sr. Sport Management Martinsville, Ind.

IUPUI Tyler Drumm So. Biomedical Engineering Wichita, Kan.

IUPUI Fumio Himeno Fr. Undeclared Los Angeles, Calif.

IUPUI Clint Hoffar Fr. Math Teaching Kendallville, Ind.

IUPUI Adam Mills Sr. Public Management MPA Indianapolis, Ind.

Kansas City Kevin Corby Jr. Business Administration St. Louis, Mo.

Kansas City David Coulter Jr. Accounting Glasgow, Scotland

Kansas City Tom Gaus Jr. Liberal Arts St. Louis, Mo.

Kansas City Michael Oakley So. Communications Lee's Summit, Mo.

Kansas City Mo Ramahi Sr. Biology Overland Park, Kan.

Kansas City Connor Sparrow Fr. Health Sciences St. Louis, Mo.

Kansas City Franklin Washington So. Criminal Justice Leavenworth, Kan.

Oakland Matthew Delang Jr. Health Sciences Shelby Township, Mich.

Oakland John Dreshaj Sr. Finance Clinton Township, Mich.

Oakland Nicholas Kristock Sr. Human Resource Management Novi, Mich.

Oakland Miche'le Lipari Jr. Health Sciences Macomb, Mich.

Oakland Derek Nowak Jr. Business Sterling Heights, Mich.

Oakland Joseph Tinnion So. History Secondary Education Macomb, Mich.

Omaha Felipe da Silva So. Business Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Omaha Lucas Hake Fr. Biology St. Louis, Mo.

Omaha Houston Hoffman Jr. Business Sioux Falls, S.D.

Omaha Logan Mendez Fr. Business Grand Island, Neb.

Omaha Jesus Perez Fr. Undeclared El Paso, Texas

Oral Roberts Tom Adams So. Exploratory Stillwell, Okla.

Oral Roberts Tyler Hill Fr. Exploratory Broken Arrow, Okla.

Oral Roberts John David James Sr. Business Administration Hurst, Texas

Oral Roberts Kimathi Kaumbutho Fr. Exploratory Nairobi, Kenya

Oral Roberts Daniel McCarthy Jr. Exploratory Endwell, N.Y.

Oral Roberts Juan Diego Padilla Fr. Exploratory Monterrey, Mexico

Oral Roberts Ryan Wiet Fr. Exploratory Columbus, Ohio

Western Illinois Tyler Chavez Fr. Finance Iowa City, Iowa

Western Illinois Yves Dietrich So. Psychology Floeha, Germany

Western Illinois Aaron Winkelmann Sr. Communication Iowa City, Iowa

Western Illinois Sammuel Worsley Fr. Psychology St. Charles, Mo.