TU's Carter, McCoil Named Preseason All-Conference

Monday, July 23rd 2012, 5:23 pm
By: News On 6

Tulsa's Willie Carter and Dexter McCoil were named to the Conference USA preseason all-conference team, as selected by the league's coaches.

Both seniors were second-team all-conference in 2011 after helping Tulsa post an 8-5 record and make the school's seventh bowl game in the past nine years.

Carter had a team-best 868 receiving yards for a 14.2 average, 62 rushing yards and nine total touchdowns – seven receiving and two rushing – despite missing two games because of an injury. He had a career-high 173 yards and one touchdown on 13 receptions against SMU. He had three 100-yard performances in all. Carter has 1,184 receiving yards and 12 touchdowns and 389 rushing yards with five TDs in his Golden Hurricane career.

A three-year starter at safety, McCoil enters 2012 tied for the school's all-time lead for interceptions with 13. He has had six INTs in each of the past two seasons. McCoil tallied 84 tackles, seven pass break-ups and ranked ninth nationally with six interceptions in 2011. In his career, McCoil has compiled 225 career tackles, 16 pass break-ups and 13 interceptions.

Also this summer, McCoil has been named to the 2012 preseason Watch Lists for the Bronko Nagurski Trophy as the nation's top defensive player and the Jim Thorpe Award as the nation's top defensive back.



First Team Offense

QB          Nick Lamaison, Sr., UTEP

RB           Charles Sims, Jr., Houston

RB           Zach Line, Sr., SMU

OL           Jordan Devey, Sr., Memphis

OL           Joe Duhon, Sr., Southern Miss

OL           Kevin Forsch, Jr., Houston

OL           Theo Goins, Sr., UCF

OL           Chris Hubbard, Sr., UAB

OL           Will Simmons, Jr., East Carolina

WR         Willie Carter, Jr., Tulsa

WR          Aaron Dobson, Sr., Marshall

WR          Darius Johnson, Sr., SMU

TE          Luke Willson, Sr., Rice


First Team Defense

DL           Michael Brooks, Sr., East Carolina

DL           Jamie Collins, Sr., Southern Miss

DL           Victor Gray, Jr., UCF

DL           Margus Hunt, Sr., SMU

LB           Jeremy Grove, So., East Carolina

LB           Trent Mackey, Sr., Tulane

LB           Taylor Reed, Sr., SMU

DB           Bryce Callahan, So., Rice

DB           D.J. Hayden, Sr., Houston

DB           Kemal Ishmael, Sr., UCF

DB          Dexter McCoil, Sr., Tulsa


First Team Special Teams

K             Chris Boswell, Jr., Rice

P             Ian Campbell, Sr., UTEP

KR           Rannell Hall, So., UCF

PR           Tracey Lampley, Sr., Southern Miss


Offensive Player of the Year – Zach Line, Sr., RB, SMU

Defensive Player of the Year – Trent Mackey, Sr., LB, Tulane

Special Teams Player of the Year – Tracey Lampley, Sr., KR/PR, Southern Miss