Oklahoma Sooners Honor Scholar Athletes

Thursday, May 26th 2011, 12:20 pm
By: News On 6

Originally Published: Apr 12, 2011 1:26 PM CDT

Oklahoma Sports Staff

NORMAN, Okla.—The University of Oklahoma honored the accomplishments of its student athletes Tuesday morning at the 13th Annual Max Weitzenhoffer Scholar-Athlete Breakfast.

In front of nearly 400 attendees, keynote speaker and OU President David L. Boren said he is optimistic of the country’s future because of the student leaders in this generation.

The Conference Medal, which honors the career achievements of one male and one female senior was presented to gymnast Steven Legendre and women’s basketball player Danielle Robinson.

Both were absent from the event as Legendre is competing in the NCAA Championships and Robinson was in New York for the WNBA draft where she was the sixth overall pick by San Antonio.

The Athletics Director’s Leadership Award was presented to Robinson and track and field’s Eric Bailey, women’s golfer Ellen Mueller and baseball player Elliott Blair.

The Dan Gibbens Outstanding Scholar-Athletes were Suzy Boulavsky of volleyball, Scott Cooper of the track and field team, Mueller, Katrin Passlack of rowing, Gabe Ikard from the football team and tennis player Ryan Proctor.

Five individuals received the Jay Myers award for academic performance by a freshman including rowers Katie Klassen and Teresa Le, football player Trey Millard, Jake Smith of baseball and Carrie Whigham from soccer.

The Football Sooner Schooner Scholastic Award went to Brian Lepak for his work in finance and accounting. He has been accepted into the OU Law School.

Athletics Council Achievement Awards, presented to student-athletes who have defied difficult odds, went to Ionut Beleleu of men’s tennis, soccer player Tiana Dickson and gymnast Melanie Root.

Three Athletics Council Service Awards for community involvement went to Quinton Carter of football, wrestler Jeff James and Brooke Sheppard from the rowing team.

Leanne Crain, the head rowing coach, was the recipient of the Athletics Council’s Academic and Student-Life Award for Coaches and her team won the Champs Life Skills Competition Award for community service, edging wrestling and women’s gymnastics.

The Most Inspiring Faculty Awards went to Dr. Will Clark, Dr. Susan Kates and Dr. Aparna Mitra.