Oklahoma Governor Declares State Of Emergency For Counties Ravaged By Tornadoes, Floods

Wednesday, April 27th 2011, 6:11 pm
By: News On 6


OKLAHOMA CITY – Oklahoma Governor Mary Fallin declared a state of emergency Wednesday for 11 Oklahoma counties devastated by tornadoes, severe storms, straight line winds and flooding.

Included in the declaration are: Adair, Cherokee, Delaware, Haskell, LeFlore, McCurtain, Muskogee, Okfuskee, Ottawa, Pittsburg and Sequoyah Counties.

At least three tornadoes have touched down in the state since last Thursday, April 21, 2011, the Governor's office said.

Storms have caused major flooding in eastern Oklahoma over the last six days. Up to 13 inches of rain fell in some locations, flooding homes, businesses and area roads.

Related Stories:

4/26/2011 Flood Waters Swallow Campgrounds Along The Illinois River
4/26/2011 Related Story: SkyNews6 Shows Devastation Of Illinois River Flooding

4/26/2011 Illinois River Businesses Bracing For Worst After Cherokee County Flooding

4/25/2011 Okmulgee County Flood Washes Out Roads, Buries Vehicles