Much Of NE Oklahoma Under A 'Fire Weather Alert'

Tuesday, August 31st 2010, 3:39 pm
By: News On 6

TULSA, OKLAHOMA -- A number of northeastern Oklahoma counties are included in a 'fire weather alert' issued Tuesday by the National Weather Service office in Tulsa.

The counties on the list include Osage, Washington, Nowata, Craig, Ottawa, Pawnee, Rogers, Mayes, Delaware, Creek, Okfuskee, Okmulgee, Wagoner, Cherokee, Muskogee, McIntosh and Tulsa counties.

The alert is in effect until 9 p.m. Tuesday.

High afternoon temps and gusty southerly winds have created an elevated fire danger.

Four eastern Oklahoma counties are under a burn ban. They include, Cherokee, Latimer, LeFlore and Haskell counties.

8/30/2010  Related story: List Of Oklahoma Counties Under A Burn Ban Continues To Grow