Filing Period Opens For Tulsa City Election

Monday, July 13th 2009, 8:14 am
By: News On 6

TULSA, OK -- Monday marks the first day of a three day filing period for Tulsa city offices. 

With current mayor Kathy Taylor not running for re-election, it's left a wide open race.

Six candidates have already announced their intention to run for Tulsa mayor.

Tulsa County Election Board

The list includes Republicans Dewey Bartlett Jr., Kevin Boggs, Chris Medlock and Norris Streetman. For the Democrats, only two have announced already. They include Tom Adelson and Robert Gwin Jr.

Dewey Bartlett Jr. and Chris Medlock are former city councilors.

The filing period is also open for city auditor and all nine Tulsa city council seats.

The filing period ends at 5 p.m. Wednesday at the Tulsa County Election Board offices.