Deadline For Assistance Is April 30

Friday, April 18th 2008, 11:53 am
By: News On 6

LITTLE ROCK (AP) -- State officials say 11 Arkansas counties are facing an April 30 deadline to apply for disaster unemployment assistance.

The unemployment assistance is for individuals affected by the severe storms, tornadoes and floods that started March 18, 2008 in Baxter, Benton, Independence, Jackson, Lawrence, Logan, Madison, Marion, Randolph, Stone and Woodruff counties. The counties have been declared federal disaster areas. The aid is for individuals who have temporarily lost jobs due to the disaster and do not qualify for regular unemployment benefits.

County offices of the state Department of Workforce Services are taking applications for the assistance.