Oklahoma Music Hall Of Fame Inducts 5

Friday, November 2nd 2007, 7:50 am
By: News On 6

MUSKOGEE, Okla. (AP) _ The Oklahoma Music Hall of Fame has five new members.
Mother and son Mae Boren Axton and Hoyt Axton, country singers Sammi Smith and Cal Smith and guitarist Tommy Crook were inducted during a ceremony last night in Muskogee.

Mae Boren Axton wrote numerous hit songs including ``Heartbreak Hotel'' which became Elvis Presley's first Number One song. She died in 1997.

Hoyt Axton was a singer, songwriter and actor and wrote the hit songs ``Joy to the World'' and ``Never Been to Spain'' for Three Dog Night. He died in 1999.

Sammi Smith was known as an outlaw country singer and remembered for the hit song ``Help Me Make It Through the Night.'' She died in 2005.

Cal Smith performed with Ernest Tubb in the 1960s and had hits on the country charts in the 70s including ``Country Bumpkin'' and ``The Lord Knows I'm Drinking'' and he now lives in Branson, Missouri.

Crook is a well-known Tulsa guitarist who still plays and teaches in Tulsa.

The rock band Hinder was given the Hall of Fame's Rising Star Award.

For more information about the Oklahoma Music Hall of Fame, click here.