Flood Buyout Program Help

Thursday, October 4th 2007, 2:42 pm
By: News On 6

TOPEKA, Kan. (AP) -- Governor Kathleen Sebelius is authorizing the state of Kansas to pay 10% of costs to buy out property owners who suffered flood damage in 23 counties this summer. The 10% share will come from a special fund created this year by the state Legislature for disaster relief.

The federal government pays 75% of the buyout, and local communities will be responsible for 15%. Cities can apply for grants to cover 10% of the total costs, reducing their share to 5%.

State officials estimate the state's share will be more than $2 million.

The buyout program normally calls for 75% federal and 25% local funds.

Chautauqua and Montgomery counties in southeast Kansas are among the eligible counties.