Two Oklahoma coaches finalists for Bear Bryant Award

Tuesday, January 13th 2004, 12:00 am
By: News On 6

(Tulsa-AP) -- Tulsa coach Steve Kragthorpe and Oklahoma coach Bob Stoops are finalists for this year's Bear Bryant Award.

The award named is for the late Alabama coach and given to the college football coach of the year.

Kragthorpe helped turn Tulsa around from back-to-back 1-win seasons as the Golden Hurricane went 8-and-5 and played in the Humanitarian Bowl.

Stoops coached the Sooners to the Sugar Bowl game for the Bowl Championship Series title where OU lost to LSU 21-to-14.

The other finalists are Tommy Bowden of Clemson, Lloyd Carr of Michigan, Pete Carroll of Southern California, Terry Hoeppner of Miami-Ohio, Paul Johnson at Navy, Urban Meyer of Utah and Nick Saban of LSU.