WAC teams to change

Friday, October 24th 2003, 12:00 am
By: News On 6

(Salt Lake City-AP) -- New Mexico State and Utah State will be the newest members of the Western Athletic Conference.

The league announced Thursday that the schools will join the conference in July 2005.

New Mexico State and Utah State are leaving the Sun Belt Conference to replace Rice, S-M-U and Tulsa. Those three schools are joining Conference USA.

Adding Utah State and New Mexico State -- both known as the Aggies -- will give the WAC nine schools.

The WAC lineup also includes Boise State, Fresno State, Hawaii, Louisiana Tech, Nevada, Louisiana Tech and San Jose State.