More Oklahoma counties eligible to receive federal disaster assistance

Friday, May 23rd 2003, 12:00 am
By: News On 6

(Oklahoma City-AP) -- Ten more Oklahoma counties have received federal disaster assistance for damage from severe storms and tornadoes that began May 8th.

Nine counties had already been declared eligible for federal assistance.

Federal officials added 10 more counties today based on damage assessments gathered by federal, state and local agencies.

The new counties are Carter, Delaware, Kay, Muskogee, Osfuskee, Osage, Pontotoc, Roger Mills, Texas and Washington.

The counties already eligible are Canadian, Cleveland, Grady, Kingfisher, Lincoln, Logan, McClain, Oklahoma and Pottawatomie.

People in these counties are eligible for temporary housing assistance and home repair. Low interest small business loans also are available.