Two counties added to disaster assistance list

Thursday, May 15th 2003, 12:00 am
By: News On 6

(Oklahoma City-AP) -- Two counties have been added to the list of Oklahoma counties eligible for federal disaster assistance.

Lincoln and Osage counties are now eligible for all seven categories of assistance as a result of last week's tornadoes. The categories include debris removal and repair of roads, bridges and public buildings.

The two counties along with Oklahoma and Cleveland counties are eligible for all seven categories.

Counties eligible for individual assistance under a presidential declaration are Canadian, Cleveland, Grady, Kingfisher, Lincoln, Logan, McClain, Oklahoma and Pottawatomie.


Residents and business owners can apply for assistance by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or 1-800-462-7585 (TTY) for the hearing and speech impaired. The toll-free hot line will operate 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. seven days a week.

For help with paperwork and in-person interviews, tornado victims can visit one of five disaster recovery centers. The centers are at 301 S. Howard in Moore; 300 W. Mid-America in Midwest City; 6700 NW 36th St. in Bethany; 211 N. 3rd Ave. in Stroud; and 28 E. Main in Edmond. They will be open 8 a.m.-6 p.m. Monday through Saturday and 1-6 p.m. Sunday.