Faulk edges Warner for Pro Football Writers MVP

Thursday, January 17th 2002, 12:00 am
By: News On 6

ST. LOUIS (AP) _ Marshall Faulk and Kurt Warner had another 1-2 MVP voting finish Thursday, and this time Faulk beat his St. Louis Rams teammate in balloting by the Professional Football Writers of America.

The award came the same day the AP named Faulk offensive player of the year.

Faulk and Warner accounted for 70 percent of the vote, with Faulk getting 48 percent. Warner won the AP MVP award announced last week, beating Faulk by four votes.

Rams general manager Charley Armey was named the league's executive of the year, beating Jay Zygmunt, the team's president of football operations, in another tight race. Rams personnel totaled 37 percent of the vote and 16 others received at least one vote.

Faulk also was named the league's MVP on offense.