TEN file for First District congressional seat

Thursday, November 8th 2001, 12:00 am
By: News On 6

(Oklahoma City-AP) -- The list of candidates running for the First Congressional District seat stands at ten.

Republican George Banasky and Democrat John Krymski, both of Tulsa, filed for the race before Wednesday's deadline for filing a declaration of candidacy.

Banasky, state Representative John Sullivan, state Senator Scott Pruitt, first lady Cathy Keating and librarian Evelyn Rogers are running for the Republican nomination.

Krymski, James Lamkin of Bixby and former Tulsa School Board member Doug Dodd are running for the Democratic nomination.

Tulsans Neil Mavis and David Fares are running as independents.

The primary for the special election is December 11th.

Congressman Steve Largent is resigning in February to run for governor.