Big XII basketball

Wednesday, October 31st 2001, 12:00 am
By: News On 6

(Dallas-AP) -- Big 12 basketball writers picked Kansas to win the conference championship in a pre-season poll.

In the poll, the Jayhawks were followed by Missouri, Oklahoma State, Oklahoma, Texas, Iowa State, Colorado, Baylor, Texas Tech, Kansas State, Nebraska and Texas A-and-M.

The pre-season player of the year was Missouri forward Kareem Rush.

The Cowboys' Maurice Baker was named to the all-conference team. The Sooners' Ebi Ere was named Big 12 Newcomer of the Year.

Texas guard T-J Ford was named Pre-season Big 12 Freshman of the Year.