National Invitation Tournament


Wednesday, March 14th 2001, 12:00 am
By: News On 6



Alabama 85, Seton Hall 79

Memphis 71, Utah 62

Wednesday, March 14

South Carolina (15-14) at Connecticut (19-11), 7:30 p.m.

N.C.-Wilmington (19-10) at Dayton (19-12), 7:30 p.m.

St. Bonaventure (18-11) at Pittsburgh (18-13), 7:30 p.m.

Illinois State (21-8) at Purdue (15-14), 7:30 p.m.

Southern Mississippi (22-8) at Mississippi State (16-12), 8 p.m.

Detroit (22-10) at Bradley (19-11), 8 p.m.

Miami (16-12) at Auburn (17-13), 8 p.m.

UC Irvine (25-4) at Tulsa (21-11), 8 p.m.

Pepperdine (21-8) at Wyoming (20-9), 9 p.m.

McNeese State (22-8) at Texas-El Paso (22-8), 9 p.m.

Villanova (18-12) at Minnesota (17-13), 9:30 p.m.

Baylor (19-11) at New Mexico (19-12), mid.

Thursday, March 15

South Alabama (22-10) at Toledo (21-10), 7 p.m.

Friday, March 16

West Virginia (17-11) at Richmond (21-6), 7:30 p.m.

___

Second Round

Monday, March 19 or Tuesday, March 20

Start times TBA

South Carolina-Connecticut winner vs. Detroit-Bradley winner, TBA

West Virginia-Richmond winner vs. N.C.-Wilmington-Dayton winner, TBA

Alabama (22-10) vs. South Alabama-Toledo winner, TBA

Illinois State-Purdue winner vs. Miami-Auburn winner, TBA

Villanova-Minnesota winner vs. UC Irvine-Tulsa winner, TBA

St. Bonaventure-Pittsburgh winner vs. Southern Mississippi-Mississippi State winner, TBA

Pepperdine-Wyoming winner vs. Baylor-New Mexico winner, TBA

Memphis (18-14) vs. McNeese State-Texas-El Paso winner, TBA

___

Third Round

Wednesday, March 21

TBA

Thursday, March 22

TBA

Friday, March 23

TBA

___

Semifinals

At Madison Square Garden

New York

Tuesday, March 27

Semifinal, 7 p.m.

Semifinal, 9:30 p.m.

___

Championship Round

Thursday, March 29

At Madison Square Garden

New York

Third Place

Semifinal losers, 6 p.m.

Championship

Semifinal winners, 9 p.m.