Philbin tries again for a Daytime Emmy

Wednesday, March 14th 2001, 12:00 am
By: News On 6

NEW YORK (AP) _ He may have everything else, but Regis Philbin doesn't have a Daytime Emmy award. Now he has two more chances to change that.

Philbin received Daytime Emmy nominations for outstanding talk show host and game show host on Wednesday. ``Live with Regis'' _ minus either Kathie Lee Gifford or Kelly Ripa _ had a best talk show nod.

Philbin is an eight-time loser in the category of best talk show host.

He also surprisingly lost last year in the category of best game show host for ``Who Wants to Be a Millionaire.'' The show is competing in the Daytime Emmy category despite being one of prime-time's most popular shows.

After a one-year absence, Susan Lucci of ``All My Children'' is back among the nominees for best soap opera actress. Lucci won her first Emmy in 1999 after losing in the category 18 straight times.

She will compete against two other ``All My Children'' actresses _ Julia Barr and March Walker. Martha Byrne of ``As the World Turns'' and Susan Flannery of ``The Bold and the Beautiful,'' last year's winner, were also nominated.

Best actor nominees were David Canary of ``All My Children''; Tom Eplin and Jon Hensley, both of ``As the World Turns''; John McCook of ``The Bold and the Beautiful''; and Peter Bergman of ``The Young and the Restless.''

``As the World Turns'' received 25 nominations on Wednesday, and ``All My Children'' 21 nominations.

Besides Philbin, talk show host nominees are Rosie O'Donnell, Donny & Marie Osmond, and ``The View'' crew of Barbara Walters, Meredith Vieira, Star Jones, Joy Behar and Lisa Ling.

Game show host nominees are Philbin, Tom Bergeron of ``Hollywood Squares,'' Alex Trebek of ``Jeopardy!,'' Bob Barker of ``The Price is Right,'' and Ben Stein and Jimmy Kimmel of ``Win Ben Stein's Money.''

``Who Wants to Be a Millionaire'' was eligible for a prime-time Emmy for the first time this year. But producers said that category had not been set by the deadline for Daytime Emmy entrants.

The awards will be given out by the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences on May 18 in a ceremony at Radio City Music Hall in New York, televised by NBC.