WAGA Winners

Tuesday, March 6th 2001, 12:00 am
By: News On 6

HOLLYWOOD – You Can Count on Me and Traffic were the feature-film winners Sunday night at the 53rd Annual Writers Guild of America Awards. Episodes of NBC's The West Wing and Frasier received honors for TV-series writing.

Kenneth Lonergan won for best screenplay written directly for the screen for his intimate family drama You Can Count on Me. Mr. Lonergan has already received several honors from critics' organiza- tions and is nominated for an Oscar.

Stephen Gaghan, who won a Golden Globe in January and is also an Oscar nominee, was awarded best screenplay previously produced or published for his adaptation of the British TV series Traffik.

Aaron Sorkin and Rick Cleveland were honored by the Writers Guild in the episodic-drama category for the "In Excelsis Deo" episode of NBC's The West Wing, and Christopher Lloyd and Joe Keenan picked up the comedy-series award for the "Something Borrowed, Something Blue" installment of NBC's long-running Frasier.


Feature Films

• Screenplay written directly for the screen: Kenneth Lonergan, You Can Count on Me

• Screenplay based on material previously produced or published: Stephen Gaghan, Traffic, based on the British TV series Traffik, created by Simon Moore


• Original long form: Phil Alden Robinson and Stanley Weiser, Freedom Song, TNT; Tina Andrews, Sally Hemings: An American Scandal, Part I, CBS (tie)

• Adapted long form: John Logan, RKO 281, based in part on the documentary The Battle Over Citizen Kane from The American Experience, PBS; Tom Rickman, Tuesdays With Morrie, based on the book by Mitch Albom, ABC (tie)

• Episodic drama: Aaron Sorkin and Rick Cleveland, "In Excelsis Deo" (The West Wing), NBC

• Episodic comedy: Christopher Lloyd and Joe Keenan, "Something Borrowed, Something Blue" (Frasier), NBC

• Comedy/variety – music, awards, tributes, specials of any length: writing supervised by Tina Fey; written by Anne Beatts, Tom Davis, Tina Fey, Steve Higgins, Lorne Michaels, Marilyn Suzanne Miller, Paula Pell, Paul Schaffer, T. Sean Shannon, Michael Shoemaker, Robert Smigel, Saturday Night Live: The 25th Anniversary Special, NBC

• Comedy/variety (including talk) series: writing supervised by Eddie Feldmann; written by Jose Arroyo, David Feldman, Jim Hanna, Leah Krinsky Atkins, Dennis Miller, Jacob Sager Weinstein, David Weiss, Dennis Miller Live, HBO

• Daytime serial: Agnes Nixon, Jean Passanante, Craig Carlson, Frederick Johnson, N. Gail Lawrence, Victor Miller, Juliet Law Packer, Addie Walsh, Mimi Leahey, Bettina F. Bradbury, Caroline Franz, Charlotte Gibson, David Hiltbrand, Janet Iacobuzio, Royal Miller, John Piroman, Rebecca Taylor, All My Children, ABC

• Children's script: Paris Qualles, The Color of Friendship, Disney; Rod Serling, A Storm in Summer, Showtime (tie)

• Documentary, current events: Helen Whitney and Jane Barnes, John Paul II: The Millennial Pope (Frontline), PBS

• Documentary – other than current events: Steven Fayer, Daniel McCabe and Paul Stekler, George Wallace: Settin' the Woods on Fire (The American Experience), PBS

• News – regularly scheduled, bulletin or breaking report: Gail Lee, Sunday Morning Headlines, CBS

• News analysis – feature or commentary: Glenn Steinfast and Darcy Bonfils, Hurricane: Eyewitness to a Storm, ABC


• Radio documentary – any length: Paul Farry and Steve Kathan, CBS News 20th Century Round-Up, CBS Radio Network

• News – regularly scheduled, bulletin or breaking report: Steven Gosset, CBS News on the Hour, CBS Radio Network; Michelle Gillan Fisher, World News This Week, ABC News Radio (tie)

• News – analysis, feature or radio commentary: Mike Silverstein, "The Wedding Dress," ABC News Radio

• On-air promotion: Lori Sunshine, "NBC Promotions," NBC