Emergency loans earmarked for northcentral Oklahoma farmers

Tuesday, November 30th 2004, 6:11 am
By: News On 6

OKLAHOMA CITY (AP) _ Farmers in eight Oklahoma counties will receive low-interest emergency loans from the federal government.

Governor Brad Henry said Monday he requested the designation because of storm damage earlier this year.

The US Department of Agriculture identified Grant and Kay Counties as primary disaster counties in the wake of high winds and hail damage from April 21st to June second. Alfalfa, Garfield, Noble and Osage Counties were deemed contiguous disaster counties.

Jackson and Tillman counties also were deemed contiguous disaster counties for damage sustained in bordering Texas counties from June second through the eighth.

Farmers can contract their local Farm Service Agency offices to see if they qualify.