Oklahoma, Oklahoma State land players on all-conference list

Friday, December 1st 2006, 5:38 am
By: News On 6

DALLAS (AP) _ Sports writers who cover the Big 12 Conference include three Oklahoma players and two from Oklahoma State on the first team of The Associated Press All-Big 12 Conference football team.

The Sooners and Cowboys are among eleven schools with players on the first team.

On offense, OSU offensive lineman Corey Hilliard made the first team, as did OU's Chris Messner.

Writers picked Norman native and Nebraska quarterback Zac Taylor.

On defense, Oklahoma City native Abraham Wright scored a spot for Colorado, while OU linebacker Rufus Alexander was selected. O-U defensive back Reggie Smith also made it on the first team list.

On second team, OU's Malcolm Kelly and running back Adrian Peterson were selected. Perrish Cox of OSU was chosen in the all-purpose category, while Garrett Hartley of OU made it in the kicker position.

Others included Victor DeGrate of OSU; Zach Latimer of O-U and Matt Fodge OSU.