Governor Removes NW Oklahoma, Tulsa And Oklahoma City Areas From Burn Ban

Tuesday, September 12th 2006, 3:45 pm
By: News On 6

OKLAHOMA CITY (AP) -- Governor Brad Henry Tuesday lifted northwestern Oklahoma and the Oklahoma City and Tulsa areas from the state's burn ban.

Henry says many Oklahoma counties have received significant rainfall over the last few weeks, providing enough relief to lift the burn ban.

But Henry says Oklahomans should still be cautious when engaging in outdoor burning. The governor says Oklahoma is still in the midst of the worst drought in state history and that he'll expand the burn ban if needed.

State agriculture officials say the fire danger remains high in 39 counties that will remain under the burn ban. Outdoor burning will still be prohibited in southeastern Oklahoma and other areas that haven't received enough rainfall to offset drought conditions.

Counties remaining under the burn ban are: Atoka, Bryan, Carter, Cherokee, Choctaw, Cleveland, Coal, Comanche, Cotton, Craig, Delaware, Garfield, Garvin, Grant, Haskell, Hughes, Jefferson, Johnston, Latimer, Leflore, Love, Marshall, McCurtain, McIntosh, McClain, Murray, Muskogee, Okmulgee, Okfuskee, Osage, Pawnee, Payne, Pittsburg, Pottawatomie, Pushmataha, Pontotoc, Seminole, Sequoyah and Stephens.