Three local government officials slated for Hall of Fame

Friday, September 9th 2005, 3:03 pm
By: News On 6

OKLAHOMA CITY (AP) -- Three local government officials will be inducted into the Oklahoma Hall of Fame for City and Town Officials.

The inductees are Jess Nelson, former mayor of Guymon; Oklahoma Secretary of State Susan Savage, former mayor of Tulsa; and Bertha Ann Young, retired City Treasurer-Finance Director for Shawnee.

The Hall of Fame recognizes individuals for outstanding achievement in the field of city and town management. The City and Town Officials Hall of Fame Foundation was created in 1999.

Honorees are selected based on significant contributions to their community and Oklahoma local government, in general, through their positive spirit of public service with unquestioned ethics.

Induction ceremonies are scheduled Thursday in Tulsa.