More Oklahoma Counties Issue Burn Bans

Tuesday, January 21st 2014, 11:37 am
By: News On 6

The commissioners of two eastern Oklahoma counties issued a burn ban Tuesday effective until January 28, 2014.

Latimer and McIntosh counties joined Pittsburg County with burn bans in the eastern part of the state.

Pittsburg County's burn ban runs through January 23, 2014.

The move comes after firefighters battled multiple brush and grass fires across Oklahoma over the weekend.

1/20/2014 Related Story: Oklahoma Fire Departments Ready For More Grass Fires After Busy Weekend

Other Oklahoma counties now under a burn ban include Blaine, Canadian, Cotton, Grady, Jefferson, Payne, Stephens and Tillman counties.

Oklahoma Forestry Services - Burn Ban Information

Under a burn ban, it is against the law to set a grass or wildfire, build a campfire or burn trash. Anyone convicted could face a fine of up to $500 and a year in the county jail.