ORU's Whitt Named SLC Athlete of the Year; Eight Set All-Conference Marks

Thursday, February 28th 2013, 3:03 pm

By: News On 6

Following an outstanding performance at the Southland Conference Indoor Track and Field Championships in Norman, Jack Whitt was named the conference's male athlete of the year.

In the pole vault event, Whitt easily won in his hometown when he cleared a height of 18 feet, 7.75 inches. The mark broke the school record, set by Whitt earlier in the season, as well as a 29 year old meet record, 22 year old Mosier Indoor facility record and was the top mark in all of NCAA Div. I so far this season.

Whitt was also named the conference male outstanding field athlete of the year as well.

All-Conference performers are determined by their finish in the conference meet, with the winner becoming First Team All-Conference, second place becomes a Second Team All-Conference former and third place make the Third Team All-Conference list.

Joining Whitt as an All-Conference performer in the pole vault was Dustin Gehrke who finished third.

Jeffery Gibson and Tyler Banks were First Team All-Conference performers in the 400-meter dash and 800-meter run, respectively. Lauren McFarland added a first team award for ORU, topping teammate Daniella Szabo in the women's pole vault.

Joining Szabo on the second team list were runners Marrisa Thomas, 800-meter run, and freshman Madison Reynolds, 400-meter dash.

Several ORU track and field athletes have one final opportunity to qualify for the national meet in Fayetteville, Ark., as the Golden Eagles are schedule to take part in the ISU Qualifier in Ames, Iowa, and the Arkansas Final Qualifier in Fayetteville this weekend.

Individual Award Winners

Male Athlete of the Year – Jack Whitt, Oral Roberts

Female Athlete of the Year – Lauren Smith, Stephen F. Austin

Male Outstanding Field Events – Jack Whitt, Oral Roberts

Female Outstanding Field Events – La'Tricia Griffin, Stephen F. Austin

Male Outstanding Running Events – David Rooney, McNeese State

Female Outstanding Running Events – Jackie White, Nicholls State

Male Newcomer of the Year – Jeff Milliron, Southeastern Louisiana

Female Newcomer of the Year – Shambrail Woods, Stephen F. Austin

Male Freshman of the Year – Jonathan Reese, Lamar

Female Freshman of the Year – Chasity Clark, Stephen F. Austin

Men's and Women's Coach of the Year – Phil Olson, Stephen F. Austin


Men's Track and Field All-Conference Teams

Event 1st 2nd 3rd

60-Meter Dash Antonio Herbert, SLU Justin Walker, NWLA Cass Brown, SFA

60-Meter Hurdles Matthew Viverette, SHSU Nick McCloud, SFA Anthony Hatwood, MCN

200-Meter Dash Kendal Taylor, NWLA Hanoj Carter, NWLA Antonio, Herbert, SLU

400-Meter Dash Jeffery Gibson, ORU Cass Brown, SFA Rodney Jones, SHSU

800-Meter Run Tyler Banks, ORU De'Quan Binder, SHSU Valentinas Rudys, AMCC

Mile Run Joe Wade, LU Alex Bruce-Littlewood, MCN Martin Delguste, MCN

3,000-Meter Run David Rooney, MCN Joe Wade, LU Adam Saloom, SFA

5,000-Meter Run David Rooney, MCN Daniel Cliffe, MCN Adam Saloom, SFA

High Jump Roger De La Cruz, AMCC Jonathan Reece, LU Parminder Singh, MCN

Pole Vault Jack Whitt, ORU Colton Ross, SFA Dustin Gehrke, ORU

Long Jump Charles White, SHSU Phillippe Moore, SLU Emmanuel Williams, NWLA

Triple Jump Charles White, SHSU Reginald Douglas, NWLA Karique Stephen, SHSU

Shot Put Jon Arthur, SFA Jeff Milliron, SLU Thomas Canchola, MCN

Weight Throw Jon Arthur, SFA Brett Olsen, SLU Jeff Milliron, SLU

Heptathlon Matthew Johnson, SHSU Cody Rhodes, SFA Jamal Davis, SFA

Women's Indoor Track and Field All-Conference Teams

Event 1st 2nd 3rd

60-Meter Dash Tanesha Maxwell, UCA Ashley Idunoba, LU Brarsheyia Simpson, SFA

60-Meter Hurdles Kryshell Rolle, NICH Danielle Demas, SHSU Bria McIver, SFA

200-Meter Dash Chasity Clark, SFA Ashley Idunoba, LU Lygia Foreman, SHSU

400-Meter Dash Lygia Foreman, SHSU Madison Reynolds, ORU Cierra Jefferson, SFA

800-Meter Run Jackie White, NICH Marrisa Thomas, ORU Jasmine Boutte, AMCC

Mile Run Alyssa Dooley, SHSU Jackie White, NICH Becky Gough, LU

3,000-Meter Run Becky Gough, LU Lauren Smith, SFA Randi Plentl, SFA

5,000-Meter Run Randi Plentle, SFA Lauren Smith, SFA Vanessa Galindo, AMCC

High Jump Melai Carter, SFA Caitlin Jones, SFA Jerrica Tillery, NWLA

Pole Vault Lauren McFarland, ORU Daniella Szabo, ORU Shelbie Zotyka, SHSU

Long Jump Jasmine Cornelius, MCN Nia Stewart, SLU Kirsten Knox, SFA

Triple Jump Jerrica Tillery, NWLA Jacqueline Berry, MCN Kelli Hermes, SFA

Shot Put La'tricia Griffin, SFA Jessica Spelling, SFA Keona Jackson, NWLA

Weight Throw La'Shantena Rounds, MCN La'Tricia Griffin, SFA Ashley Jenkins, SHSU

Pantathlon Morgan Davis, SHSU Jasmin Ellis, UCA Allyson Pettit, SHSU


Get The Daily Update!

Be among the first to get breaking news, weather, and general news updates from News on 6 delivered right to your inbox!

More Like This

February 28th, 2013

April 18th, 2022

April 18th, 2022

April 18th, 2022

Top Headlines

October 5th, 2022

October 5th, 2022

October 5th, 2022

October 5th, 2022